Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Recent User Reviews
Bar
Bookstore
Cinema
Dance Club
Festivals
Gallery
Health Clubs
Hotel
Library
Music Club
Record Store
Recreation
Restaurant
Shops
Theatre
Travel & Tourism
Wine & Grocery
Yoga

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Recent Reviews - Hotel

Homestead Hotel Review
We stayed at The Homestead Hotel while visiting Northwestern University. This hotel was a wonderful choice.

We were mere steps from campus, downtown Evanston, and the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Customer service was wonderful, and the location was ideal. Free wireless internet, garage parking, and complimentary breakfast were included with the room, and were a welcomed surprise! Some reviews of this hotel on other sites don't do it justice.

It's an older building with tons of character. It's well maintained, very clean, and the staff is genuine and helpful. While there, were learned that they even have a charming garden in front with fresh basil and home grown chili peppers, grown for exclusive use at the Hotel's restaurant, Quince. This place was refreshing and relaxing! This is now our "go-to" hotel whenever we're in Evanston! Oh, and ps, excellent rates for the area!

- By Katrina (Sunday 10/31/10 11:36 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Herrington Inn and Spa Review
Love the hotel, love the spa. Can't wait to have the opportunity to go back. One of the most relaxing times I've ever had.

- By Li (Saturday 12/26/09 2:43 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Renaissance Oak Brook Hotel Review
An excellent hotel in the suburbs, roof top pool, HD flat panel TV's. for my Ipod and laptop and love the 9th floor restaurnat with the view of Chicago Skyline

- By Jim S. (Wednesday 4/23/08 8:52 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Embassy Suites Chicago (Lombard/Oak Brook) Review
The suites were large and clean. The staff were top notch and extremely helpful. Every night from 5-7pm they have the manager’s welcome at the bar. Appetizers and your first drink are free. The hotel restaurant food was also quite good.

- By A new Yorker (Monday 4/14/08 6:17 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

River Park Motel & Suites Review
River Park Motel is a basic affordable motel. I stayed there for a week this summer with a friend. Check-in was quick. The room was clean and had cable tv and free wireless internet, which is a big plus. Getting dowtown taking Lake Shore Drive took about 10-15min. We went shopping at Lincolnwood Town Center, which was less than 5min away, and Old Orchard mall about 10min away. We chose this motel because it was a good value and desirable location for us.

- By Kelly (Wednesday 10/3/07 8:31 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Days Inn Lincoln Park-North Review
I've stayed here 4 times in the past six months. Days Inn at Lincoln Park is certainly not the Hilton, but neither is it your average Motel 6. The room sizes run from average to fairly spacious for a nice "middle class" hotel. I have high cleanliness standards and this hotel is fine. The desk help is very good. The people working the breakfast room seem very stressed when you ask them to refill some item (eg: a milk pitcher), so I'm not real comfortable in the breakfast room. The area is great -- safe, though precautions should be taken as in any large city, decent restaurants around, a terrific art cinema around the corner, and a bus stop immediately in front of the hotel. Be aware that (only valet is available) parking is a whopping $20. a night. Forget trying to park by yourself in the surrounding area for more than just a few hours. Rates area reasonable for this area, but be forewarned that any large event on a weekend will drive up prices tremendously.

- By Jennifer (Tuesday 9/25/07 10:30 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

House 5863 Review
House 5863 is great. I've stayed there twice and both times I was impressed. Different than the conventional B&B - better, for me -with more privacy & no community sit-down breakfast. But that said, they provide everything one could want in accomodations, ammentities and breakfast food. You just use what you want, when you want.

- By Christine (Friday 9/21/07 8:41 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Ambassador East Review
Four-star accommodations at a two-star price. Guest room was as well-appointed as our room at The Drake. Our nightly rate, however, was half the price. Quiet neighborhood and very attentive staff. Parking is a pain, but that's the price you pay ($41-24 hours) for staying in the Gold Coast area.

- By Greg Holzinger (Monday 9/10/07 10:48 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Heart O' Chicago Motel Review
Like others, I almost hate telling anyone about this place because I may not get a room when I want one! I love this place not for any special amenities, but for its value, location, and free parking (a large parking lot but I have parked in an adjacent business lot when returning late because the place was booked solid and I think some rooms had more than one car there). Yes, I've encountered a cranky desk person, but sometimes you get what you give in attitude. In a time when big city lodging is exorbitantly priced, HoC is a decent option. As for the neighborhood-anyone who ever goes beyond glitzed up downtowns (where street crimes and thefts happen all the time, don't be fooled!) knows that "real" neighborhoods aren't perfect--this is NOT a terrible area, though. Like any city, just be aware of your surroundings and your own demeanor. I've stayed here quite a few times and have never had any problem whatsoever. It is also close to gay favorites Touche and Jackhammer (can walk) and a short drive from the Eagle and, a little further, Boystown. It's great for fans of basic kitschy retro motels, too!

- By doug (Friday 5/25/07 1:32 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Willows Hotel Review
I absolutely loved my stay at The Willows! It is a wonderful place to stay and just as they described. The Willows is elegant, very warm, cozy and comfortable, charming, and very clean! It is in a great location and neighborhood - close to great restaurants, and shopping. I really looked forward to coming back to my room at this lovely hotel after a long day. The ambiance is wonderful! Quite honestly, the hotel made my trip to Chicago an even more enjoyable one. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

- By Erika (Wednesday 2/21/07 7:43 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Holiday Inn Chicago Rolling Meadows Review
GREAT HOTEL!!!! Kids loved the indoor pool and staff was excellent!

- By Joe Metcalf (Wednesday 8/16/06 2:03 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Belden-Stratford Review
The Belden is a wonderful place to stay. Safe, clean neighborhood. There are 2 five-star restaurants in the building, and tons of choices a block west on Clark Street. The rooms are huge and even though it's almost always booked, the halls are usually pretty noise-free. Make sure to enjoy a drink and a view of the city from the rooftop deck. It's a $2, 10-min bus ride from Michigan Ave or $8 by cab. Really can't say enough about this place... it's perfect for long-term or short-term stays!

- By Belden Resident (Saturday 8/5/06 8:26 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Heart O' Chicago Motel Review
We stayed at the Heart O' July 14 - 17, 2006. We were very pleased with the location, value, and cleanliness of the motel. It is an older unit, but well maintained and clean. It is a no-frills motel---but has all the basics. The lower price with free off-street parking makes it stand out. It was recommended to us by a very reputable local organization that uses it for various guests. The continental breakfast is basic (donuts, coffee, juice) but there are ample eating establishments within 2 miles of the motel south on N Clark Ave. We would certainly consider staying there again.

- By Losco & Connie Hunter (Thursday 8/3/06 10:56 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Baymont O'Hare Review
I stayed there recently with my girlfriend when we were both attending an even in Chicago. Luckily she's just as frugal as I am.

It was very easy to get to, with regular shuttles to and from the airport. The trip was only 10 minutes and the drivers were very polite. Note that you might want to call the day before to verify a specific time. From the airport we easily hopped a subway wherever we wanted to go.

The rooms were clean and comfortable if not luxurious. The people at the front desk were very accomodating. The hotel offered a simple breakfast bar, mostly bagels, cereal, and juice, which is more than enough for the average traveler.

This hotel is not suited for a luxury trip or a romantic weekend, but is an excellent choice for the budget-concious student or business traveler, with excellent value and conveinent location.

- By John V (Wednesday 5/10/06 5:57 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Hotel Sax Chicago Review
With a moroccan theme with a modern twist, this hotel interior will blow you away. Service from the staff exuded 5 star, first class abilities. If you go, be sure to plan your trip during the days of Thursday thru Sunday and hit the hotel's bar Kazbah. It's a hip and trendy crowd teeming with Martini's, Cosmo's and conversation. Best bartender? Ask for Rich. Bin 36 the adjoining espresso bar/restaurant is modern with a slight New York chic interior. Decent menu, but the espresso should be your main goal. All in all, the prices for the hotel are in the same category as say, Swissotel in Atlanta or the Ritz Carlton Atlanta. A great place to stay!!

- By Jason (Saturday 4/1/06 2:11 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Hostelling International Chicago Review
Having stayed at many hostels around the world, it is wonderful to know that we have one of the very best right here in Chicago's backyard.

The sleeping conditions are comfortable, the staff is extremely helpful, and the programs provide visitors a wealth of Chicago activities.

I recommend everyone try out Hostelling International in Chicago where they will not only experience all this city has to offer, but save some money, as well.

- By Jeremy Lewno (Wednesday 12/21/05 11:51 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Days Inn Melrose Park/O'Hare South Review
Hotel was filthy, unkempt and carpets were dirty.

Complete overhaul needed

Poor breakfast, non existant restaurant and unhygienic generally. Stay well clear, you have been warned!!!

- By missfendi (Thursday 10/28/04 4:05 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Review
This hotel is supposed to be on Strike? All I saw was a bunch of people sitting in flower pots smoking cigarettes and eating McDonalds. My stay was uninterrupted by the so-called Strikers. The rooms were clean, and it looked as if the hotel was making some renovations. Maybe, the hotel is better off without the people sitting in the flower pots smoking and eating. The Congress Plaza Hotel, is the ideal location for families to stay with close proximity to the Museums and great restaurants in the area. The concierge desk was really helpful with suggestions of restaurant and entertainment. Overall my stay was great at the Congress. DON'T be intimated by the Strike. After all if you can’t find another job in over a year making $8.00 dollars an hour there must be something wrong with these people.

- By BILL (Monday 10/25/04 9:53 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Chicago/Naperville Review
This is a very low budget hotel. The rooms were extremely hot. Even with an outside temp of 60, we were still sweating at night. The beds are rock hard and in many places there was water damage on the ceiling with strong evidence of mold. Yuck. There are lot of hotels in this area. Would not recommend this one!

- By Beth (Monday 10/25/04 5:51 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Belden-Stratford Review
Just returned from my 2nd stay (9-03 and7-04) at the Stratford/Belden. Excellent in all regards. Clean, elegant rooms. Priced like you wouldn't believe. Staff treated us with the utmost of respect and service... was very, very personable. Can't imagine staying anyplace else in Chicago if I can help it. Mon-Ami-Gabi in the building along with a 5-star place which I did not go into. Across the street from Lincoln Park Zoo and the Botanical Garden. Two short blocks to the Lake front to enjoy watching the activities there or participating in them! We also got to watch large crew rowing competion...all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Try it, you'll like it.

- By Greg Greenwald (Tuesday 7/20/04 10:04 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews
chicago, metromix