Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Recent User Reviews
Bar
Bookstore
Cinema
Dance Club
Festivals
Gallery
Health Clubs
Hotel
Library
Music Club
Record Store
Recreation
Restaurant
Shops
Theatre
Travel & Tourism
Wine & Grocery
Yoga

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Recent Reviews - Cinema

Cascade Drive-In Review
As others have said, I had been going to Cascade since I was in High School. I live in Orlando, Fl and found out that Cascade still exists!...Great! When I am up to West Chicago for a visit I will relive the memorie. Not too many drive inns any more in this country. Thank You for being there.

- By Leland Ronzheimer (Saturday 4/3/10 6:48 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
Can't wate for the drivr in to open. We've been going there for 10yrs every weekend even if we have seen the sme movies. The kids love it they like to see when the old cars come in with the car clubs.We always park in the same place. We we're there last season up till the last day. We pass by every weekend on our way to roller skating. We came from the city it's worth the drive 2 movies for the price of one and returning back to the past. We rather go to the drive in than a theater. See you soon for opening weekend in the same parking spot. The red mini-van.

- By Mysticrose1313 (Monday 3/15/10 10:47 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
Had a nice time at the cascade.I went with my husband. We got to see two movies for a great price, and i will be taking the children next time.

- By ALLWAYS LOVED THEDRIVE-INN (Friday 5/30/08 10:05 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Logan Theater Review
I love this theater and every since I have lived in this neighborhood, I go to watch the movies with a peace of mind, adult and even the kids that go are respecting the place as well. I sometimes don't necessarily like the movies, I just love the nice fresh popcorn, which is freshly popped and the nice theaters matrons that greet you and make you feel like you are at home. Also if you have been shopping, they store your bags and make sure you enjoy the show without any interruptions. VERY NICE AND MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME THEATER FOR $3.OO, YOU CANNOT GO WRONG AND HOPE YOU STAY AROUND FOR A VERY LONG TIME. THANKS FOR THE GREAT SERVICE!!!

- By cassandra Ledezma (Thursday 11/15/07 8:34 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
Cascade is a bro down paradise, just a truck some chairs,the dog and some bad pizza. Only thing that would make this place better is if they did some old horror movies late night.

- By Erik (Tuesday 7/10/07 10:15 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Century 12 & CineArts 6 Review
This is the best cinema in the Chicago area! It actually serves Kettle Corn which you rarely find in the movies. There are always plenty of good shows at numerous times throughout the day. I also love the student discounts and free validated parking. This is a great place to take a date, especially with Buffalo Joe's right around the corner. The only drawback is that it can get overrun with high schoolers on the weekend. A bit of advice, if you are going to see a new release get there early because seats are a premium.

- By Derek (Tuesday 6/26/07 9:46 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Village North Theater Review
This theatre has undergone extraordinairy changes in recent years. This place used to be referred to as the "ghetto plex," and rightfully so. Not anymore. The prices are reasonable, and there has been a conscious effort to make the place look and feel more appealing to the public. It's a neighborhood theatre, so you know you'll get a unique experience each and every time. I prefer my small scale theatre, with a great Thai place next door any day over the over-priced megaplex. At least at the Village North, the customers are seen as individuals, with lives and stories to tell...not just a sale.

- By Edet (Wednesday 5/16/07 6:27 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Logan Theater Review
I love the Logan Theater and l try to tell everyone l know to go and support this great institution. Where else can you go and pay $3.00 and get Hot fleshly popped popcorn. The people who run the place do a great job of keeping the theater clean and orderly. I have been going to the Logan for years!!!!

- By zenaida rivera (Friday 6/23/06 3:59 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
My wife and I went out and we really enjoyed the movies. We had a great time and I'm glad that Cascade is around, even if I have to drive forty five miles to get to it. I would admonish anyone looking to have a good time with the family to load up the SUV and head on over to the cascade drive in. It's really good inexpensive fun for the whole fam. Keep up the good work Cascade.

- By Anthony Bogard (Friday 6/9/06 2:35 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Gene Siskel Film Center Review
This must be the most underrated, little known, yet longstanding cultural gem in Chicago. Four arthouse, classic, or world movies every night of the week, pristine interior, in the heart of downtown (i.e. anyone can catch a 6pm Casablanca after work should they so choose) and five buck tickets if you're a member.

Maybe people miss the entrance despite the big sign because there's no neon or LED spectacular screaming for attention above the door. There's a teeny little movie-times scroll inside the door and the box office is upstairs (via stairs or elevator).

But inside, two theaters, one small and one 200-seater, both state-of-the-art, neither afflicted by 10 minutes of commercials or other hype, a rapt attentive audience, and a small art gallery/cafe to boot.

No matter, when New York City groaned and mourned when Cinema Village and many others of its arthouse ilk died in the 1990s, this is exactly the type of venue our Gotham brethren were mourning. Turn anyone onto the Siskel Center, and when they get done telling you how they never ever knew it was there, they'll go.

- By Mike Doyle (Wednesday 5/31/06 12:06 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Logan Theater Review
The Logan is a great place to bring the family. At three dollars a ticket and resonably priced concessions you can't beat it for a night out. Recently my family of five saw an old fashioned double feature (the kids couldn't believe that we got to see two movies) with snacks for under 25 dollars. Plenty of parking in the city lot behind McDonalds. Very nice and clean. I love the old velour covered seats

- By Jeff M. (Wednesday 7/27/05 8:16 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
I have been going to the Cascade since I was a child with my family. Now I have a child of my own and my family and I spend many summer nights at the Cascade Drive-In. It has become a family tradition that we look forward to every spring. Thanks Cascade for the memories and more to come.

- By Lorri (Friday 5/27/05 5:05 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Logan Theater Review
Logan square theatre is not without nostalgic value. They still show films on film. It's a second-run theatre though and they tend to play what the family will see. My only complaint is the damn "EXIT" sign in theatre two or three. It's brighter than the silver screen!

- By Vincent (Wednesday 3/30/05 3:22 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Logan Theater Review
Great Theatre. Very nostalgic. All details from the black and white tiles in the bathrooms to the wooden arm rests are what make this theatre great. I went for the first time today and loved it. As mentioned in the details, the screens and sound are very good. I hope the operators keep this one going for a long time.

- By Jeff (Saturday 1/22/05 10:30 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Village North Theater Review
I've lived in Rogers Park for four years and haven't been disappointed yet in a viewing at the Village North. Sure, the theatres are small, and maybe it isn't the cleanest place in the world, but where else can you go for $5.00 to see first run movies? Don't go to the Saturday matinees if you want a whisper quiet theatre and to be able to sink yourself into the fantasy of a film - think about it - saturday matinees generally involve children and families and there is nothing quiet about children or families. DO go to the midnight showings. Any of them. You'll be safe when you exit.

- By mark (Friday 11/12/04 4:00 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Davis Theater Review
I love this theater! Yes, it's a little dirty and very outdated but the theater has character. I think people have become spoiled by the corporate movie theaters like Lowes and AMC. Have we forgotten that it's about the movies? The Davis is a great place to see first run hollywood blockbusters and independent films. I'm usually there twice a week. It's a charming and cozy place that shows first rate films at cheap prices. I repeat: I love this theater!

- By Kristine (Wednesday 11/10/04 3:38 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

La Grange Theater Review
la grange theater is the only place i will go to see a movie pretty much, i mean, its even cheaper than renting a movie and let me tell you my friends and i are all about not spending money!! so this is definitely the place for us! and also the place for lots of teenagers not only from around the area, i know plenty of people from as far as BURBANK who come here to see a movie...crazy times we live in..

- By stephK (Sunday 10/24/04 3:13 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Webster Place Review
I was in 7th grade when Webster Place was built. It was the first big theatre not located downtown or on the outskirts of the city. It was once clean and new. It's getting pretty run down, but I still think it's a perfectly fine place to see a movie. No harsh complaints.

- By Rebecca (Wednesday 11/5/03 1:41 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Cascade Drive-In Review
Cascade is really good. Since I live in Chicago this is the closest drive-in by my house. Six dollars for 2 movies is a steal!! I dont care if its the Matrix or Pokemon the movie. Kudos! to Cascade keep it up I love the Bargain. Dosen't get any better except the speakers outside for the car aren't so great other then that it's a deal!

- By Steve (Saturday 11/1/03 3:56 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

La Grange Theater Review
It's cheap, it's a lot closer to me than Quarry, and who cares if the movies are a little old?

- By Alana (Friday 9/5/03 7:02 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews
chicago, metromix