Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Recent User Reviews
Bar
Bookstore
Cinema
Dance Club
Festivals
Gallery
Health Clubs
Hotel
Library
Music Club
Record Store
Recreation
Restaurant
Shops
Theatre
Travel & Tourism
Wine & Grocery
Yoga

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Recent Reviews - Bar

Flatwater Review
I attended my friends wedding reception on 10-16-10....the staff and service was Flawless....great food great service great attention....

- By Kimyada Smith (Sunday 10/17/10 10:09 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Chizakaya Review
My husband & I went to Chizakaya last night for dinner. Sat in the back at one of the communal tables & exposed kitchen (you wouldn't know there was a whole other area when you walk in). This is the opposite of what you see on those reality chef shows. No screaming here, just very calm staff.

For drinks, I loved the Lie & Cheat. My husband had the Great Lakes beer from Ohio. He had this on one of his business trips & was excited to see it on the menu - he ordered it twice. All the beers were from Japan or the Midwest. On the back of their menu, they list the local farms they purchase from.

We had a little bit of everything. The puffed pig ears-I swear I turned to look at the kitchen & when I looked back, my husband finished every little piece. The hamachi with bone marrow, congee, walleye, octopus salad, octopus skewer & chicken meatball were just a few of the items we ordered and all so wonderful. And dessert, I had the rice pudding - very yummy with the coconut.

Overall a great time. Easy to find. Not many restaurants surrounding Chizakaya, it was like a hidden neighborhood gem, in an area not filled with valet signs every ten feet. We took a cab, but parking didn't seem difficult. It was Oktoberfest down the street at St. Alphonsus, so I think there were more cars than usual. I didn't have time to try the ramen, but I look forward to trying this on my next trip, with my own bowl of puffed pig ears.

- By Tami (Sunday 9/26/10 11:36 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Vintage Lounge Review
It was decent. i loved the dancing part of vintage that is what attracted my friends and me. We bar hoped from hawkeyes to drum and walked by vintage adn knew we had to go in and once we went inside we just had a blast. Plenty of people. Plenty of room to move and go to the bar and to dance. Only bad part was dj said he didnt know any hip hop so i just had to make fun out of what he played

- By littlemoney (Sunday 9/26/10 8:31 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Prosecco Review
We came across Prosecco via the restaurant guide in our hotel room. Called and got a reservation for same evening. My wife and I have traveled Italy extensively and have dined at some of the best restaurants in the country; Prosecco competes with all of them. The food was fabulous, the wine selection while not extensive was fine and the service staff was attentive without being intrusive. I highly recommend Prosecco for a wonderful evening complemented with fine food.

- By Greg S (Monday 9/13/10 8:02 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Four Shadows Review
I spent my 1st iowa game at four seasons bar,best time I have ever had since I was last in iowa city. Next time I hit up chicago I will stop by four season bar no matter what. Love this bar.

- By Nate N from boone (Saturday 9/4/10 4:01 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Declan's Pub Review
Had a blast at Declan's Grand Opening Party last night. Good food, great atmosphere! This is a great place to just go have a beer, especially on a nice day, their outdoor space is amazing!

- By Mary V. (Friday 8/27/10 10:45 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Got Spaghetti? Review
This is a very friendly place with a fantastic array of original Italian dishes. The service was excellent and the ambiance was full of original Italian culture. The restaurant was very clean and the selections of wine were good. They have a great roof top setting for outdoor dining. I highly recommend this place as one of the better restaurants in the area.

- By Scott Bruce (Wednesday 8/11/10 8:48 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Ham Tree Inn Review
Had a tough day at work and I wanted a few hours off from the wife and kids to watch a ball game. Great sports atmosphere, cheap drinks, and free homemade chili. Can't beat that! I heard from one of the patrons that this neighborhood tavern has been under the same ownership for more than 35 years.

- By Robert O'Shea (Monday 8/2/10 1:01 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Neutral Zone Review
I have been at The Neutral Zone more times that I should admit. Foods great, atmosphere is great, service is great. What else can I say.

- By Mike (Saturday 7/31/10 11:36 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Waba Review
It may not be totally authentically Korean but I will be honest and tell you the food made me okay with dying in food bliss. Not the best food in the world but the Galibi was juicy, tender and savory. Then the bartender "Ben" was amazing. He can suggest and make an amazing drink.

If you become friends with him then he will most likely hook you up. He will drink with you and is very friendly. He is not Korean but no biggie! ;-) Anyway, the yuk gae hang we ordered was so good that my sister and I can not wait until we return to order it again!

We returned for their Sunday night and it was delicious (I wrote it in Korean and it won't post it!)! It was completely filling! I can't wait to order more sojutinis and food. It may not win my heart in authenticity but in flavor it has won a place in my stomach that will last some time.

- By Bae (Sunday 7/18/10 7:16 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Chicago Prime Steakhouse Review
Truly a classic american steakhouse with incredible prime steaks and fresh seafood.

I am a regular - this place is amazing - I reside in Dallas but come in for business. I met the owners and it's clear why the place is so well kept and well run.

the quality is unsurpassed and we know our steaks in texas kids.

Yyou can't go wrong here. I skip Ruth's and Morton's all together when I am in Chicago (schaumburg area mainly).

- By Johnny Mou (Thursday 7/15/10 2:23 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Full Shilling Review
When the Cubs are out of town the crowd is very mellow. Free Popcorn and some draft specials . Like every place in Wrigleyville it gets packed on game days . Great burger and wings !! Cant wait to return .

- By Larry S. (Wednesday 7/7/10 7:22 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Waba Review
The one thing better than karaoke is private karaoke! The rates are reasonable and there is a diverse mix of song. Whether you want pop, rock, showtunes, j-pop, or country there is something for you. Best of all, you don't have to wait for people you don't know to sing songs you don't care about....sure, you do have to pretend to care about your friends' songs, but that's what friends are fooooor!

- By Emm Gin (Monday 7/5/10 5:02 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Bobbie's Runaway Review
What a Great neighborhood bar - very friendly and great food whether you are new to the area or been around for a long time - It is the kind of place you come in and leave with ten new friends. A wonderful neighborhood establishment. You will have a good time.

- By Noreen P. Duggan (Wednesday 6/30/10 10:12 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Declan's Pub Review
Great pub experience in a location that long needed a face lift. Wonderful atmosphere and an evolving menu. Still getting it's bearings but has the potential for becoming one of Old Towns best pubs.

- By John Marshall (Sunday 6/27/10 2:55 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

The Lucky Monk Review
BEAUTIFUL patio/outdoor seating. It over looks a pond with a lit fountain, very romantic and then they have a fire pit in the middle of a lounge area. Great food and excellently brewed beer if you appreciate good beer! They are open till 2am too! Great place.

- By Maggie (Thursday 6/24/10 11:19 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

The Portage Review
A bit out of the way, but way worth the drive. We went for the Kobe burgers and all three of us gave them a big thumbs up. It's the sides that are especially awesome. We tasted the fries, tempura green beans and man 'n cheese and all were exceptional. The smashed sweet potatoes with my burger were the best I've ever tasted. The rest of the menu read well and prices are very reasonable. The upcoming outdoor patio looks to be very cool, too.

- By Paul Z. (Friday 6/18/10 6:47 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Marie's Liquors & Pizza Review
6/16/10 Two weeks ago, on a Wednesday, I stopped in at Marie's, on Lawrence Ave........It was Cabaret night.....The piano player, Richard, was out-standing......He was able to motivate folks to perform, including me.....The atmosphere was friendly and inviting.....I would highly recommend Marie's, not only for their entertainment, but for their excellent food.....Plus everything was reasonably priced.

- By Gee Sitkiewicz (Wednesday 6/16/10 5:39 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Weather Mark Tavern Review
The WeatherMark Tavern is a great bar for anyone to visit. They made accommodations for people with hearing loss. They were patient and understanding. They have great lighting, seating, open space, and good food! I would recommend this place to anyone!!!!

- By Ann Flannery (Saturday 6/12/10 9:43 AM)

Post Yours       All Reviews

Papi Chulo's Bar and Grill Review
Wonderful place. Beautiful outdoor areas, with one deck near the roof. It has its own volleyball court and band stage. And it is next to the water, so close you can touch the boats parked in the harbor.

- By Marcus (Friday 6/11/10 8:43 PM)

Post Yours       All Reviews
chicago, metromix