Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Art Galleries
Galleries By Style
Galleries A to Z
User Reviews
Visual Arts Articles
View All
Picky Art Picks
Artist Sketches
New In Art
Art Guides
So You Wanna...

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Michael FitzSimmons Decorative Arts

View Map 208 S. Marion St., Oak Park
Tel: (708) 763-8220
Fax: (708) 763-8229
View Website
Michael FitzSimmons Decorative Arts Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
7 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Michael FitzSimmons Decorative Arts Review


  • Cassie says:
    On Saturday 9/14/13 4:44 PM
    WARNING! This guy is a scam artist! I purchased a very expensive rug from Michael over a year ago and have received NOTHING! Will not respond to email, phone, the BBB, etc. I have filed charges with the State Attorney General hoping to recover my funds.

  • ourejnjtonx says:
    On Monday 8/1/11 4:05 AM
    rg1UvU ifswsfltuzel

  • ltyvvminc says:
    On Saturday 7/30/11 3:23 AM
    BLBX13 gpqrgralcfyd

  • Voncile says:
    On Friday 7/29/11 5:59 PM
    Thought it wuodln't to give it a shot. I was right.

  • Beverly Martin says:
    On Monday 11/8/10 12:39 PM
    We had a fire and lost some of our arts and crafts antiques. Michael was wonderfu. He e-mailed us photos close to things that we lost within a couple of days of talking to him. We ordered an awesome Limbert lamp table. His shipping was very reasonable compared to other antique dealers across the country. We are very pleased with his service, professionalism and understanding of the situation. We plan to use him again to replace more items lost in the fire.

  • Neil Crumpton says:
    On Saturday 7/17/10 4:19 PM
    Don't even think about buying anything from this place.

    We ordered a very expensive custom rug from Fitzsimmons Decorative Arts and were told by the owner, Michael Fitzsimmons, that it would take 4-6 weeks to come in. After 2 months we were then told rugs take 6-8 weeks. After 8 weeks we called again. And again. And again (they NEVER answer the phone and NEVER return calls). The few times we were able to get a hold of Michael or Maggie, they said they would look into it and get back to us. Neither of them ever did. Finally after 5 months we managed to get a refund (after Michael literally ran out of the store when he saw us). Maggie didn't even apologize when giving the refund.

    I don't know at what price point customers become important to them but obviously our $1600 rug didn't qualify us.

  • Robert Streit says:
    On Friday 6/12/09 7:45 PM
    When my wife and I decided to remodel our Arts and Crafts era bungalow, we turned to Michael FitzSimmons on the recommendation of friends whose Frank Lloyd Wright designed home he had helped restore. We were delighted and astonished at how Michael FitzSimmons transformed our bland living room and dining room into a warm and welcoming living space. We had seen the gorgeous furniture and accessories in his Chicago gallery (now relocated to Oak Park), but we hadn't known about his impressive design expertise. FitzSimmons re-imagined our living room in a way that revealed his deep understanding of Arts and Crafts design: When we stripped off the Sixties wall and floor coverings, we found evidence of the original 1913 features-- fireplace/chimney breast, built-in cases, sconces, etc.--exactly where FitzSimmons had recommended we place them. The furniture and accessories we purchased from him are beautiful. We recommend Michael FitzSimmons Decorative Arts to anyone looking for top quality Arts and Crafts style merchandise and painstaking care in design.



Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Michael FitzSimmons Decorative Arts website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix